Evolution of the wristwatch

Did you know that the modern-day wristwatch evolved as a necessity of War?

World War I placed a strategic importance on the soldiers to wear a watch in order to note down the timing of bombardments. And soon, the wristwatch became a fashion accessory – one that is still considered as a luxury, and can get as expensive as £13.5,000,000.

While the world has moved from mechanical watchmaking to mass production, this man, based in a tiny shop in New Delhi, still believes in the craft of designing a watch exquisitely.

 

 

 

Here’s a sweet deal: 9 Vitamins, 8 Minerals

The Sweet Potato, known as Shakarkand in India originates from South/Central America.

It is packed with 9 vitamins and 8 minerals and makes a healthy snack and even a meal.

The below video allows you to be one of the  potatoes, just make sure you’re not picked and chopped into bite-able pieces:

 

Who is these stray dogs’ Goodwill Ambassador?

On a stroll at a nearby park, I came across this family of stray dogs and their puppies who were cozying in a small tent that was built for them by some kind stranger.

There were blankets, proper food and water in large bowls. This pack, unlike other strays, looked healthier and much happier.

If you know who this “Dog Hero” is, go ahead and personally thank them. But for now, take a look at one curious puppy who took a bite of my camera:

The Guy Who Took Kolkata Street Food to London

Jhalmuri is a healthy snack originated and popular in the Bengal region of India – and in recent years, Londoners are fancying it as well.

When a British chef Angus Denoon came across it in India, he fell in love with it at the first bite!

His love for it was so intense that he had to take it to his hometown in London, not just for himself, but as a street food option for the whole city and people have loved it as well.

Below is Jhalmuri being prepared in India. You can view it in 360° video:

And here’s a video of it being prepared in London by Angus.

What exactly is wrong with our current education system?

Six things, according to the Next School, which aims to address the industrial age education system that no longer serve the needs of the world today.

And why do we need a good education? well,

“Regard man as a mine rich in gems of inestimable value. Education can, alone, cause it to reveal its treasures, and enable mankind to benefit therefrom.” 

The Miss India You Must Know About

Preeti Singh is not just a pretty gal who sings. At the age of 24, this confident go-getter from New Delhi was crowned Miss India Wheelchair 2017.

Preeti was born with Cerebral Palsy – a congenital disorder of movement, muscle tone and posture that has been a large part of her life, but not something that confines or defines her true identity.

She wants to be known for what she can do, not what she can’t – and thus, here is a list for the starters:

1. Besides speeding through a crowd with her electric wheelchair, when a song speeds through her mind, she takes out her Oneplus phone and isn’t shy about recording herself singing in public and putting it on Insta under #PreetiSings.

 

2. Travel – she is on constant move across the city and around  India, with her next destination being a Euro Trip. She gets around the city via Uber on her own, and sometimes, these drivers just leave her stranded on the roadside 🙁

 

3. Storytelling – “my story inspires others, so whenever I get a chance, I like to share it with people. After that, I also like to hear their stories.” When interacting with this man who brooms the park we were shooting at, her conversation brought joy to his face. Evidence attached below:

 

4. Work – she’s a well-qualified Accountant, but she doesn’t do any of the activities in Ben Affleck’s film, The Accountantthough she loves thrillers.

 

5. Movies – A self-diagnosed Netflix addict, she watches everything the service has to offer, with a preference for sci-fi, thriller, and dramas. But it’s real-life-based films that she can name on drop of a hat – like Forest Gump.

 

6. Reading – “I like reading biographies besides fiction. I am in love with Barak Obama’s biography because he is also a misfit like me, but pursues his dream despite all of that. He’s also a down to earth typa-guy and it would be a  dream come true if I ever get to meet him.”

 

7. Mental Health is a cause she feels passionate about and wants to explore further – so when she was invited to be part of Living Stories, she happily became a “book.” (Living Stories is a project “for people to share specific life experiences in the form of stories as they become books whom interested readers can issue and read, through personal conversations.)

 

8. Shopaholic “Yes, it is true, most of my money goes to one-piece dresses and lipsticks. Did I say that out-loud?”

 

9. Partying – When it comes to partying, she’s the first one to RSVP – if she isn’t the host, that is. “DJ Wale Babu mera gana chala do…

Profiles on Medium that can make you smart (4/4)

Everyday, thousands of voices write about their personal opinions and stories on several platforms  on the internet like ‘Medium’. Since many of us don’t have the time to read all of those insightful blogs, guest writer Palak Zatakia Meraki lists out these 26 profiles on Medium to make you smarter every day.

 

Here’s the list: 

 

  1. Jeff Morris Jr.: https://medium.com/@jmj
  2. Nathan Kontny: https://medium.com/@natekontny
  3. Josh Elman: https://medium.com/@joshelman
  4. Adrian Zumbrunnen: https://medium.com/@azumbrunnen
  5. Sean Rose: https://medium.com/@sean_a_rose
  6. Nischal Shetty: https://medium.com/@nischal
  7. James Clear: https://medium.com/@james_clear
  8. David Heinemeier Hansson: https://medium.com/@dhh
  9. Daniel Jeffries: https://medium.com/@dan.jeffries
  10. Dave Morin: https://medium.com/@davemorin
  11. Misbah Ashraf: https://medium.com/@misbahspeaks
  12. Dustin Senos: https://medium.com/@dustin
  13. Abhishek Madhavan: https://medium.com/@AbhishekMadhavn
  14. Jason Fried: https://medium.com/@jasonfried
  15. Ameet Ranadive: https://medium.com/@ameet
  16. Joel Gascoigne: https://medium.com/@joelgascoigne
  17. Aaron Otani: https://medium.com/@aaronotani
  18. Kevlin Henney: https://medium.com/@kevlinhenney
  19. Nassim Nicholas Taleb: https://medium.com/@nntaleb
  20. David Aron Levine: https://medium.com/@nntaleb
  21. Balaji S. Srinivasan: https://medium.com/@balajis
  22. Scott Belsky: https://medium.com/@scottbelsky
  23. Seth Godin: https://medium.com/@thisissethsblog
  24. Ben Yu: https://medium.com/@intenex
  25. Mohit Mamoria: https://medium.com/@mohitmamoria
  26. Ryan Holiday: https://medium.com/@RyanHoliday

40 Books you must read in 2018 (3/4)

Books are an individual experience. Here, guest writer Palak Zatakia Meraki, who quit college to pursue independent education, lists out 40 books every knowledge seeker must read in 2018.

Here are his picks (in no priority order):

  1. Zero To One (http://amzn.to/2lsrDTQ)
  2. Elon Musk (http://amzn.to/2CedlAG)
  3. Sapiens (http://amzn.to/2Epxkdm)
  4. Homo Deus (http://amzn.to/2CiPaBa)
  5. Shoe Dog (http://amzn.to/2CgCHhA)
  6. Becoming Steve Jobs (http://amzn.to/2Chf9Jr)
  7. Meditations (http://amzn.to/2Ced0xU)
  8. The Hard Thing About Hard Things (http://amzn.to/2C0kctu)
  9. The Design Of Everyday Things (http://amzn.to/2zSnBZj)
  10. Principles (http://amzn.to/2CunbeJ)
  11. Hit Refresh (http://amzn.to/2CtJgKr)
  12. Start With Why (http://amzn.to/2ChyDNM)
  13. Option B (http://amzn.to/2Ch863j)
  14. Leonardo Da Vinci (http://amzn.to/2CiN7gA)
  15. Learning From Leonardo (http://amzn.to/2BYpV2P)
  16. Creativity Inc. (http://amzn.to/2CfN1WQ)
  17. Autobiography Of A Yogi (http://amzn.to/2q3rcUP)
  18. Be Here Now (http://amzn.to/2zSCCKZ)
  19. Hooked (http://amzn.to/2zTvgXt)
  20. The Book Of Satoshi (http://amzn.to/2CtjoOD)
  21. The Power Of Habit (http://amzn.to/2CgiDeV)
  22. Hit Makers (http://amzn.to/2lzakzU)
  23. Machine, Platform, Crowd (http://amzn.to/2EpP7Rt)
  24. Originals (http://amzn.to/2Chh3K5)
  25. Nudge (http://amzn.to/2zTwmm3)
  26. The Intelligent Investor (http://amzn.to/2lxXthd)
  27. Give And Take (http://amzn.to/2Cx1zhW)
  28. Hackers And Painers (http://amzn.to/2lvTIcn)
  29. Our Final Invention (http://amzn.to/2lyHQ9r)
  30. Founders At Work (http://amzn.to/2zUaPJO)
  31. Good To Great (http://amzn.to/2C1OaNw)
  32. The Snowball (http://amzn.to/2C1jzzW)
  33. Pour Your Heart Into It (http://amzn.to/2zU5L8p)
  34. Poor Charlie’s Almanack (http://amzn.to/2Ele00F)
  35. Seeking Wisdom: From Darwin To Munger (http://amzn.to/2zTaabK)
  36. The Score Takes Care Of Itself (http://amzn.to/2EnCCFW)
  37. The Art Of Thinking Clearly (http://amzn.to/2zSn8q6)
  38. The Daily Stoic (http://amzn.to/2zUbxXu)
  39. Grinding It Out (http://amzn.to/2lAjs7w)
  40. Structures (http://amzn.to/2zUjNGW)

20 Blogs that made me smarter in 2017 (2/4)

Social media is a lot more than just personal updates on facebook or uploading photos on instagram. Thanks to the unstoppable growth in the digital infrastructure, more and more people are utilizing the internet for consuming and distributing knowledge. As a result, there are innumerable websites and blogs that can actually make one smart.

Guest writer Palak Zatakia Meraki, who quit college to pursue independent education, lists out such websites and blogs that “made him smarter in 2017.”

  1. Farnam Street: https://www.farnamstreetblog.com
  2. Wait But Why: https://www.waitbutwhy.com
  3. The Outline: https://www.theoutline.com
  4. Collaborative Fund Blog: http://www.collaborativefund.com/blog/
  5. The Atlantic: https://www.theatlantic.com/.
  6. Signal v Noise: https://www.signalvnoise.com
  7. Paul Graham: https://www.paulgraham.com
  8. Brain Pickings: https://www.brainpickings.org
  9. Harvard Business Review: https://www.hbr.org
  10. Aeon: https://www.aeon.co/
  11. Seth Godin: http://sethgodin.typepad.com
  12. Vox: https://www.vox.com
  13. Fast Company: https://www.fastcompany.com
  14. Mark Manson: https://www.markmanson.net
  15. TED Ideas: https://ideas.ted.com
  16. WIRED: https://www.wired.com
  17. A Wealth Of Common Sense: https://awealthofcommonsense.com
  18. James Clear: https://www.jamesclear.com
  19. A Smart Bear: https://blog.asmartbear.com
  20. Andrew Chen: https://www.andrewchen.co